

HOOP HISTORIANS NEWS

Committed to promoting goodwill through basketball Volume # 179 – April, 2025

SIX NEW MEMBERS JOIN HOOP HISTORIANS

Five new full members and one honorary member were approved at Hoop Historians Annual Business Meeting during Final Four week. The Class of 2025 includes Edward Burns, Adrian Collins, Jim French, Bill Mushrush and Brennan Petar. Ramon Kirkland was chosen honorary member. Biographies of all the new and returning members can be found on the Hoop Historians website at: www.hoophistorians.com/members.htm

THREE RE-ELECTED TO BOARD OF DIRECTORS







Don MacKay, Al Sack and Ted Reineking were re-elected to leadership roles in the Hoop Historians. MacKay and Sack will serve two-year terms on the Board of Directors, and Reineking will serve a one-year term. MacKay was also selected to serve his third term as Chairman of the Board.

HOOP HISTORIANS SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS

Individuals who have been members of the Hoop Historians for 10, 20 and 25 years were recognized at the Annual Meeting in San Antonio. Receiving 10-year awards were Guy Dave Baldwin, Fray, Fromknecht, John Genova, John McCann and Ted Murphy. Recognized with a 20-year award was Fred Allman. And receiving a 25-year membership award was Marianne Parrillo.

FIFTY YEARS OF FINAL FOURS



At the Hoop Historians Annual Meeting Al Sack was presented with an award signifying his 50th Final Four. Al is now a member of a select group, joining two other Hoop Historians in reaching this 50-year milestone: Brian Burmeister (53 Final Fours) and the late John Mayberry (51). Congratulations Al!

BAILEY TAKES SHAMROCKS DOWNSTATE



Hoop Historian Mike Bailey coached Saint Patrick High School to a third-place finish in the Illinois High School Association Class 3A State finals. The Shamrocks made their first ever trip to the tournament's Final Four. The all-boys school on Chicago's northwest side is one of the oldest continuously open high schools in the Chicago area. Bailey has coached at the school for 31 years and has won nearly 600 games. Way to go, Mike!

CLICK HERE TO CHECK OUT
THIS YEAR'S HOOP
HISTORIANS FINAL FOUR
PHOTO GALLERY

HOOP HYSTERIA CONTEST NETS FIFTH DIFFERENT WINNER

The chances for a repeat winner in the Hoop Historians Hoop Hysteria Contest fell short at the Final Four as past winners Joe Klebon and Joe Lyons were in the mix until the final weekend. This year's winner was Joe Spagnolo, who identified all four Final Four teams and correctly chose Florida as the champion. Rounding out the top ten for this year's were: Vern Vegso, Kevin McCann, Kieran Lyons, Reineking, Brett Ekenberg, Paul Swanson, Carol McCann, Billy T. Haynes, Brian Burmeister, Joe Klebon and Nancy Cavaretta. Results for 2025 can be found on the Hoop Historians website www.hoophistorians.com/scoreboard-htm.

HOOP HYSTERIA CONTEST PAST WINNERS

Steve Traktman (2021) Joe Lyons (2022) Vern Vegso (2023) Joe Klebon (2024) Joe Spagnolo (2025)

2026 NCAA FINAL FOUR



APRIL 4 & 6